ImageI like this post card.

 

It’s been a long time since I last posted.  Lots has changed.  I’m expecting my second baby in about two months.  The pregnancy was easy and hard at the same time for various reasons.  I was expecting twins, but one did not make it.  That will be something I get into at a later time.

But I’ve been practicing the art of putting “me” first.  I don’t have time to worry about what other people are doing.  I keep trying to make other people happy to the point where I leave no reserve for myself and that turns out horribly in the end.

I read this great interview from Julie Bowen from Modern Family about how much to give to your children.  Image

This was the interview.  It says to only give 70% of yourself to your children, because if you give 100% you will end up hating them.  Haha.  But I really think that this rings true.  No other person will understand this feeling unless you are a parent.

My therapist says I tend to guilt myself too much for things I have absolutely no control over.  Things like other people’s happiness, their health, their wealth, and I tend to feel guilty if I am not able to provide those things for them.  So I have to now make a concerted effort to really not give a sh!t when there is nothing I can do.  I literally have driven myself to physical exhaustion and at the end of the day, I don’t even get a “thank you for helping me.”  Life lessons are hard learned sometimes.

