As I get older, I think my appreciation for my culture and heritage grows. Watching Korean historical dramas (yes, fictional) helps me realize why my peeps are the way they are and why traditions (some… not all) are so important to uphold.  While I was watching a historical drama, I just noticed how pretty Koreans did things in the past.  The foods were colorful and the Hanboks (Korean dresses) were so beautiful.  The dynasties and their customs… hierarchy… not so much. Haha.  I, often, wonder where I would fit into the hierarchy.  Peasant?  Slave? Noblewoman?  More and more I want to go to my motherland and immerse myself in the culture.  It saddens me a bit too to know that O will probably never fully understand what it means to be Korean.  I am a 1.5 generationer and I am stuck in the middle of two cultures.  For her, I’m sure more than not, she is American.  Yes, she looks yellow… but she will probably grow up adopting this lifestyle more.  Of course unless I shove her culture down her throat which is something I am not prone to do.

But I love seeing the prowess of Koreans. I mean, call it ethnocentrism, but I am proud. We have come such a long way from being considered a third world country to now being a leading enterprise in business and media.  It’s great.

To see people driving Korean cars in the US, using Korean brand electronics and telephones. People from all over watching Korean dramas and singing Korean songs.  Way to go, Psy. Amazing.  I’d never have guessed as a child that I would see this day. Learning to accept who and where you come from takes awhile.  As a kid, I always felt embarrassed that my middle name wasn’t American enough, I felt embarrassed when my mom sacked Kimbab… now, I am so glad that people are so diverse and learning to accept one another’s differences.

World, we have come a long way.  I just pray that life continues to evolve in a positive direction.

