Do the Work

I have to do the work… but it’s grueling!!!

We had a great weekend at Legoland.  It was our 6th Anniversary, so we took O with us to celebrate.  It’s been a crazy six years.  Lots of ups and downs, but full of growth and life lessons.

It really was a great weekend.  I have been out of commission (even today) because I had the stomach flu starting on Thursday and now just a full blown-out cold with mouth breathing and night-time fits of coughing.  So sleep?  She and I aren’t friends again.  My whole household is sick.  Of course it started with the little munchkin bringing potent school ground germs home to share with her clan.  Great.  My dad, sister, husband, O, and I are all sick.  So far my mom is the only one who isn’t breathing hot air through her mouth because she can’t breathe through her nose.  But she’s coughing… so doesn’t look like she’s going to escape.

We stayed at the Park Hyatt Aviara.  It’s great there.  And if you have kids, it is pretty convenient to go to San Diego for SeaWorld or the zoo… and a hop and a skip away from Legoland.  I got the best massage from a girl named, Mia.  Oh how I miss her.  She was seriously beyond amazing.  #1 massage ever.

I had to make a deal with myself when I started school.  I was never crazy about school as an undergrad because at that time, school had no direction for me.  Once I started nursing school, I became a bit of a nerd.  Overachiever.  It made the journey not so fun.  As I got older and continued school, I realized the A’s are amazing and gratifying… but I can’t have my life suffer just because I’m in school.  So I have to balance my self-needs, my wife duties, my household duties, school duties… and now mommy duties.  I come to learn that it is extremely difficult to be in school with a 3.5 year old in the same household.  Study times are not the readily available to me nor are quiet times.  Haha. I so give it up to any parent that is trying to continue school with children. Single parents even more so.  Kudos.

So if I want to enjoy my life and not be a raging lunatic to my husband, O, and family… I need to be okay with receiving average grades.  Of course I am not deliberately going to try to get Bs… but you get the drift. I refuse to miss a beat with my daughter because of my own goals.  That would be selfish.

