So, I started my Master’s program. Whoo hoot. I’m not going any where prestigious but I’m getting it done and that’s all that matters. I’m legit. I have a photo ID and everything. I love it. I felt overwhelmed as I sat and listened to 9 hours of orientation and lectures on a nice, brilliant Sunday morning, but I feel great.

"My Course Direction..."

I’m on the Educator path… but will ultimately finish my FNP.

I think as a woman, we tend to lose sight of what’s in this life for us.  We focus on our kids, our households, and if lucky enough to have energy left on our spouses… ahahahahahaha.  But what about us?  I am having tons of girlfriends who are constantly chiming in about “mid-life crisis’…”  I’ve had mine too.  I think it comes when we stop for one minute to think about ourselves.  When we start thinking about what and how we haven’t done for ourselves… the neglects seem countless.  And the hurdle to get a sense of our own individualism seems to become insurmountable.

My BFF has been going through this.  Feeling like she’s wasting the best years of her life in carpool, waiting for kids to get out of lessons, and being a mom.  As a friend, you need to remind them (male/female/no gender discrimination)… about what their positive traits are.  I tell her all the time…”You aren’t wasting your youth away because you look fierce, you dress great, you have an amazing brood of children, and a husband who is absolutely smitten about you. Women and men are looking at you wishing they could be just a little bit more like you.”  And this is the honest to God truth about the way I feel about her.

Life’s not always easy.  And that’s why I say always surround yourself with people you know will always have something kind to say about you and to you without it being dishonest or generic.  You need to keep the organic friends around, because through and through these are the people who keep you healthy. And you have really got to FIND THE TIME… for yourself.  It took me 37+ years to feel my body catch up to my mind… and it’s telling me to finally start taking care of her first.  I have to give myself little reminders that I’m not being selfish, because ultimately, it’s for the betterment of my family and friends.

