Best Friends

Julie and I at the start of the LA CANCER CHALLENGE 5K Run

I strive to do charitable work throughout my life.  I feel like it’s important to give back to the community and to others.  Cancer is an immensely important cause for me and finding a cure is of the utmost importance, especially after watching Karen suffer so much from the disease and lose her life to it.  But the best part of running for a cause is also to be able to get my family and friends involved as well.  My best friend has supported me for the past four years and has run with me at least once a year.  My sister, very reluctantly, joined in this year and I think she actually had a good time.  I won’t disclose her time though.  Ahahahahaha.

I didn’t train at all so I suffered.  I thought, “hey, I’ve been doing some cardio at home on my elliptical and did a whole 10 minute run on the treadmill at the gym.”  Oh man.  I know all too well that pavement running and treadmill running are two entirely different beasts.  But the cocky in me didn’t care.  Ahahahahaha.  My time wasn’t the best, but I did it.  And that is all that matters.  I made a small difference in the fight against cancer.

My husband even came out to support me.  This was a nice change because he never came out before to witness and be a part of such great energy.  He used to say it was too early.  I have to say it meant a lot.  And at the times, I wanted to walk… I thought, “no way… I’m not going to have him see me come in dead last.”  Ahahahahahaha.  There were grandma’s and grandpa’s passing me by.  But I really wanted to embrace the run.  I thought of Karen a lot during my solo run.  And I reminded myself, “I’m not in competition with anyone but myself.”

Mommy and Daughter Moments

A Precious Mommy & Daughter moment I will never forget.

The best part was getting O involved.  I had waited three years for this day.  I wanted her to have a love of running and being active.  I also wanted her to realize that mommy runs to support people who are sick and to help people who are less fortunate than we are.  It’s important for me to instill in her the love of philanthropy and having her feel empowered to make a change in this world.  I didn’t feel I had that growing up.  I didn’t think I could make a difference or that I did make a difference.  Early on, I want O to know that she makes a difference in the lives of others daily.

O wasn’t in the best of moods going to the run.  She was cranky, whining, and just not pleasant.  But once I was done with my race, it was time for hers.  She refused.  But with some encouragement, we set off holding hands.  It was a super short run for the kids (1K)… but she had so much fun, she wanted to join the bigger kids again.  And even when that was over, she wanted to run again.  Ahahahahahaha.  So on the final run, she and her daddy ran, because I was about to keel over from the heat (90 degrees… in OCTOBER!!!) and the dust.  Ugh, the dust is still coming out of my nostrils as I write this.  But it was all so worth it.  Even the asthma attack!!!

My next run is on 12/2 for Just Say No To Drugs.  It’s actually to have my husband participate, get out of his sedentary lifestyle, and also start doing things that are important to O and me.  And yes, I’m forcing my sister to do it too.  Haha.  I’m seeing my Pulmonologist this week… so hopefully, I will be better prepared next month!!!

