Healthy glow…

So my friend, Sara, and I were having lunch one day and she was telling me how her friend’s are so thin after having a baby. Interest peaked. So, I’m like “how do they do it?” Sara: “They don’t eat.” Interest turned-off. Me: “ugh, can’t do that, I love food too much. I’m freaking nuts when I don’t eat.” Sara and I can admit that we aren’t obese, but we are in that obscure category of “skinny-fat,” meaning we could use some toning up. So, of course, if there’s an easy way to lose weight, we want to know. But this way is just not our cup of tea… or I suppose Coffee in this matter. Hehe.

So Sara goes on to tell me a lot of Korean girls (and probably other Asian mommies) will do a “just drink black coffee diet.” WTfreakzilla. I said, “where do they get energy for their kids? Home? Husb?” Sara: “they take a shot of those herbal energy drinks!” What the heezack!!!

My question is: Is being skinny really that worth the risk of jeopardizing your health? For the love of Forever 21… eat!!! Then, run around with your kids. You have got to stick around this crazy universe long enough to see what kind of kook you raise. This behavior is being observed by your children and may one day be emulated. I don’t allow anyone in my family to say anything remotely derogatory or negative regarding body image in front of my daughter.

Sometimes, my family members will be like “oh, look at your tummy (because they think everything about O is delicious)…” It’s not meant with malice, but I stop them in their tracks. Why? Because one day, when O was 2 years old, she said, “look mommy, my tummy is big.” And I said to her, “Boo boo, it’s not big, it’s because there is poo poo and a big bang-goo (fart) in there waiting to come out and it’s ok… you are perfect.” (Yep, to a kid… it makes perfect sense). I also don’t encourage them saying, “oh, you’re such a good girl for eating so much.” Why? Because then, she may equate eating A LOT with being a good girl. My sister experienced the whole “eat a lot = you’re a good girl” connection a great deal when we were growing up… and it affected her relationship with food. Then, when she put on some extra poundage… it became “oh, you shouldn’t eat so much!” How damn confusing for a child and unfair. It brings tears to my eyes thinking about the emotional and mental torment people put on my sister.

I remember I used to wonder as a kid why my belly was bigger than the tiny kids my own age… I was a bit plump. I remember wearing my beautiful white trimmed, pink flowered bathing suit thinking, “hmm, my tummy is bigger than hers.” This was as early as third grade. It came from some place… this negative body image. I just can’t seem to identify when, where, and what situation prompted those thoughts. It’s a heavy burden I still carry till this age. That is definitely not a cross I’m going to let my daughter carry. It’s unnecessary and a needless stressor in her life.

I know, it’s hard to find time to get active to lose weight (guilty… but I’m just straight lazy), but if it’s that important for you to be skinny; then, use your time with your kids and go to the park… act like a monkey on the monkey bars and move.

I know the phrase, “Eat less, move more” is easier said than done… but if you have kids, it’s a great opportunity to get moving. The emaciated look is never a fashion DO.

(The girl in the picture is a famous Korean actress… I think she definitely looks better with a little more meat on her. Do you agree?).

She had to drop like 30lbs!!! Not nearly as vibrant. This is the same girl from the top

