Do I really look like her? Or is it because all Asians look the same?

I don’t see the resemblance…ok… maybe the hair.

I love celebrity gossip, style, etc. But I find that it’s a shame when the world of movies and glamour doesn’t include people who look like me. Of all the mainstream Asian actresses, I don’t think I relate. So now here I am stuck between a rock and a hard place (is that the saying?… I’m part FOB), because I don’t feel I look like any Asian in the industry and obviously I don’t look like any other actress. This was one of the reasons why I wanted to start a magazine or something, because I wanted to incorporate the real life styles of all ethnicities and races, so people could say… hey, here is a half African American-Vietnamese girl that actually looks somewhat like me, wearing clothes I can actually afford and want to wear, and put on makeup that isn’t 50 shades too dark or 50 shades too light.

But the thing is… no one is you. Yet the reality of life is that young kids look at popstars as role models and examples. This is not bad because it gives them something to build their style on.

I just find the slow rate in which the entertainment industry incorporates strong, diverse Asians… men, women, children bothersome. I mean what happened, after the “Joy Luck Club” America learned all there is to know about Asians? I’m excited to see more African Americans (thank you Oprah, Tyler Perry, Obama) break the mold… Latinos (Zoe Saldana, Penelope Cruz, Salma Hayek)… yet all we have is Lucy Liu. Really? And all Asians are Chinese, right? Or skinny? Thank you girl from Glee… she’s not the typical, skinny, tall Asian… but other than her… we have Jamie Chung (and mind you, saw her at the Grove and she is beautiful… breathtaking). We definitely see a handful on TV now, but why do we never get the lead? Lucy Liu had a few opportunities and obviously couldn’t get the ratings. Why?

I would love to open a magazine one day and have my daughter be able to see strong Asian role models. But in the meantime, I guess we have to be the best role models.

And really, do I really look like Lucy Liu? Or is it because all Asians look the same?

